Home Page
Call for Papers
Technical Programs
Paper Submission/Format
Important Dates
Conference Committee
About Sanda
Hotel and Travel
Contact us
Position:Home Page-- Conference Sponsor Introduction

Shanghai Sanda University

Shanghai Sanda University

Sanda University (上海杉达学院) is the first private university established in People's Republic of China (since all universities were made public immediately following the 1949 revolution), located in Shanghai. The University has around 10,000 students and 450 full-time academic staff, covering a range of academic disciplines including business, computer science, engineering, foreign languages and management.


On June 26, 1992, a group of professors from Shanghai Jiaotong University, Peking University and Tsinghua University, three of the leading universities in China, initiated the notion of establishing a university with funding from the private sector. Sanda University was thus founded on August 11, 1992.It was the first full-time private university offering programs leading to accredited certificates and diplomas in the country, and on March 6, 2002, with the official ratification of the Chinese Ministry of Education, it became, under the supervision of Shanghai Municipal Education Commission, the first full-time private comprehensive university providing undergraduate courses in China. In pursuance to an ordinance promulgated by the Ministry of Education in 2002, Sanda University changed its official name to Shanghai Sanda Institute, although the name Sanda University is still being widely used.



The main campus is on a 26.8 hectare site in Pudong, in the south of Shanghai. A second campus, known as Guangbiao Institute, was established in 2002 and is located in Jiashan County, Zhejiang province. It is named after Cao Guangbiao, one of the major donors to Sanda.

International Collaborations

Since the founding of Sanda University in 1992, it has established exchange and coperation relationships with a number of overseas universities and research institutions, including Rider University, American University, University of Central Lancashire, University of Hull, University of Essex, University of Nevada at Las Vegas, Pennsylvania State University, Waseda University, Soka University, Kyoto University of Foreign Studies.

Academic Schools

School of Information Science and Technology

Sheng Xiang School of Business

School of Management

School of Humanities

School of Foreign Languages

School of Engineering

School of Adult Education